PROGRAM IN CULTURE, LANGUAGE AND COGNITION


at Northwestern University

 Site Index
 o Research
 o Events - REU
 o Faculty
 o Publications

 Affiliated Departments
 o Psychology
 o CSD
 o SESP
 o Linguistics
 o Anthropology
 o MORS

 External Sites
 o CSS
 o APA
 o Max Planck Inst.
 o CNRS

CLC Faculty, Graduate Students and Assorted Colleagues

Faculty in the program come from the departments of Psychology, Linguistics, Communication Sciences & Disorders, Education & Social Policy, Philosophy, Management & Organizations, and Anthropology. The CLC planning committee meets regularly throughout the academic year, and includes graduate students as well as faculty and staff.

This summer, several faculty mentored undergraduates through an NSF-funded Research Experience for Undergraduates.

Faculty List

Ann Bradlow [Linguistics]
1-8052,  abradlow@northwestern.edu  
Jeanne M. Brett [Kellogg-Management & Organizations]
1-8075,  jmbrett@kellogg.northwestern.edu 
Amy Booth [Psychology]
1-7710, a-booth@northwestern.edu 
Wendi Gardner [Psychology]
1-4972,  wgardner@northwestern.edu  
Dedre Gentner [Psychology]
7-1272,  gentner@northwestern.edu
Chris Kennedy [Linguistics]
1-8054, kennedy@northwestern.edu
 
Ariela Lazar [Philosophy]
7-6370, a-lazar1@northwestern.edu  
Jeffrey Lidz [Linguistics]
jlidz@northwestern.edu  
Viorica Marian [Communication Sciences & Disorders]
1-2420, v-marian@northwestern.edu 
Karla McGregor [Communication Sciences & Disorders]
1-3183, 
Douglas Medin [Psychology]
7-1660, medin@northwestern.edu  
Cynthia Thompson [Communication Sciences & Disorders]
1-5073, ckthom@northwestern.edu  
Leigh Thompson [Kellogg-Management & Organizations]
7-3505, leighthompson@kellogg.northwestern.edu  
Gregory Ward [Linguistics]
1-8055, gw@northwestern.edu  
Sandra Waxman [Psychology]
7-2293, s-waxman@northwestern.edu  

Graduate Students

Dan Bartels
Sarah Unsworth

Assorted Colleagues

Scott Atran satran@umich.edu   Home Page
University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, Department of Psychology
Coauthor of several papers with CLC faculty. His research and teaching interests are centered in the following areas: cognitive and linguistic anthropology, ethnobiology, environmental decision making, categorization and reasoning, evolutionary psychology; Middle East ethnography and political economy; natural history of Lowland Maya, cognitive and commitment theories of religion.

Marjorie Faulstich Orellana orellana@gseis.ucla.edu
University of California at Los Angeles, Department of Education
Former member of CLC committee. Her research interests include bilingualism and multiculturalism in education, especially curricular and development issues in relation to culture.

Norbert Ross norbert.o.ross@vanderbilt.edu  Departmental Page
Vanderbilt University, Department of Anthropology
Former member of CLC committee. His research interests include the construction of concepts about nature, the biological world, and environmental concerns. He also has expertise in social networks and the anthropology of Central American indigenous groups.


Northwestern logo WCAS logo